A Beginner’s Photography

This has come in very handy...

This has come in very handy…

By early 2015, I realised that the kinds of photos I wanted to create just weren’t possible with my little old point’n’click Lumix camera. I needed something that would let me learn how to take photographs properly, yet still be cheap(ish). After a bit of research, I settled on a Nikon D3200 which came with a 18-55mm lens.

I started going out more often, just to take photos of random things – landscapes, critters, plants, textures, whatever – and playing around with the settings to see what they would do for me until I had some level of understanding of what was going on. It was a brisk learning curve, starting with shutter speeds, then aperture, then ISO settings. I’ve yet to get into playing around with exposure settings (currently, I’ll tinker with the levels in Photoshop), but I’m happy enough with what I’m getting for the time being.

It soon became clear I needed a telephoto lens for some of the shots I was really after; a Sigma 70-300mm lens was the most affordable option, and opened up a whole range of options for what I could do (I got a tripod and a remote shutter control to help).

Gullfoss waterfall, Iceland

Gullfoss waterfall, Iceland

Thingvellir, Iceland

Thingvellir, Iceland

Near Eyjafjallajokull, Iceland

Near Eyjafjallajokull, Iceland

Blue Lagoon, Iceland

Blue Lagoon, Iceland

Agia Irini, Crete

Agia Irini, Crete

Oia, Santorini

Oia, Santorini

Aurora, Iceland

Aurora, Iceland

Shoot for the moon!

Shoot for the moon!

Jupiter and its moons

Jupiter and its moons

Edinburgh Botanic Gardens

Edinburgh Botanic Gardens

Edinburgh Botanic Gardens

Edinburgh Botanic Gardens

Edinburgh Botanic Gardens

Edinburgh Botanic Gardens

More photos can be found at my new portfolio on Behance.

One response to “A Beginner’s Photography

  1. Pingback: A Beginner’s Photography II: the enthusiastic amateur | Observaterry·

Leave a Reply

